Week of 1/6/20 – 1/10/20 – New Project!

This week I began working on a new project. Since I am part of the after school Robotics Club, I will be spending some of my time in class getting our robot working.

This year we are doing the MATE ROV competition, where we will need to design a robot that can maneuver underwater and perform various tasks, all controlled by someone at a laptop. I will be heading the robotics end of this project, the physical lights and motor control.

I worked on being able to send simple start/stop signals to the motor that we will be using. Then, I moved on to soldering the larger servo control board that we will be using in the robot. This took me the majority of my time, as I had to learn a few new commands, and how to communicate with the servo controller to control a small simple servo. My goal next week will be to finish this process and control the full size motor with this.

Much of my week was also taken up by one of my previous projects. The LED arcade game didn’t quite fit right. I tried to fix this small issue, and in the process the rest of the components began to fail. So, I have to start putting the components back in. This is a frustrating process, which will continue into the following week.

Image result for mate rov competition
Wifi isn’t working today, so I wasn’t able to upload the photos I took of my process.

Leave a comment